Page 1 of 1

Gas meter install

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:59 pm
by Jeff h
I am installing an EKM Gas Meter on a commercial roof top package unit. It is a 3phase 208 v unit. Looking over the instructions and noticed that there is a wire running through a CT. Where is this wire running to and from? Is it the gas roof top unit?

Re: Gas meter install

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:12 pm
by Jameson
Hello Jeff H,

Welcome to the forum and thank you for your question.

Are you looking at the instructions for the gas meter or are you looking at the instructions for one of our electric meters? If it is an electric meter will you tell us which model?

If it is the gas meter, you should not need to worry about a CT. The only wire it has is the Pulse Output wire. This is connected to a simple switch that closes for every unit of gas that flows through the meter. (in the case of our 3/4" gas meter it closes once for every cubic foot of gas that is measured) This pulse can then be measured and counted by either our simple battery powered 8 digit pulse counter or our Omnimeter Pulse v.4

Here is the gas meter spec sheet for everyone's reference: http://documents.ekmmetering.com/EKM-PM ... -sheet.pdf

Thanks,

Gas meter install

Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 1:30 pm
by MichaelHib
Hi Seth,

My gas meter, EKM G-4 3/4 with pulse output reads in cubic meters. I am using the EKM-EDSPN-Nv.2 Single phase electric meter. What is the correct pulse ratio setting for this set-up? I am trying to get a cubic feet read out.

Leon

:)

Re: Gas meter install

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:14 am
by Jameson
1.00 cubic meter equals 35.31 cubic feet.

If you have a gas meter that pulses once per cubic meter, then for every pulse you would be measuring 35.31 cubic feet of gas.

If you have a gas meter that pulses once per 1/10th of a cubic meter, then for every pulse you would be measuring 3.531 cubic feet of gas.

I would set your Pulse Ratio of your EKM-EDSP-N v.2 to 1:1. I would then make the conversion from cubic meters to cubic feet in software.