How to Use the v.4 Omnimeter's Controllable Outputs

General questions and discussions focused around the EKM Metering System. Discuss your meters, installations, and meter communications here.
Post Reply
Ezzie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 8:44 am

How to Use the v.4 Omnimeter's Controllable Outputs

Post by Ezzie »

I am trying to find a way to add a simple pump on/off control between a storage tank and a water well to turn a pump on and off. I have a normally open (NO) float switch in the tank and a motor starter at the well head. At both locations, I have v.4 Omnimeters connected to your Zigbee RS485 radios to collect electrical and water meter pulse data back to a central monitoring computer. How would I go about triggering the output on the Omnimeter at the well site from the remote location??? Seems to me there would need to be some way of using a pulse input (on/off or hi/lo) at the tank end and addressinfg a specific Omnimeter's output in the network???
Jameson
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: How to Use the v.4 Omnimeter's Controllable Outputs

Post by Jameson »

It sounds like you are using a USB converter and the EKM Dash to read your Omnimeter, is that correct? Also, it sounds like you want to monitor the data on one Omnimeter and trigger a relay on a different Omnimeter. Is this also correct?

I am not aware of a way to do what you are wanting to do with the EKM Dash triggers. The EKM Dash will only let you monitor and control a relay on the same Omnimeter.

You will want to use Push3 gateway based triggers: https://help.ekmmetering.com/support/so ... gers-beta-

The Push3 gateway triggers are better than Dash triggers anyway in that you dont have to run your computer 24/7 for them to work reliably. And in your case you can monitor the data from one meter and trigger a relay on a different Omnimeter (provided both Omnimeters are connected to the same EKM Push gateway, which it sounds like yours would be).

Here is information about our EKM Push3 gateway: https://www.ekmmetering.com/collections ... rol-system

So in summary yes, you could have your Omnimeter near your storage tank be connected to a float switch (connected to one of its 3 pulse inputs), you would then monitor the Pulse Input states and trigger based on their state (see screenshot for an example of a Push3 trigger), you would then control the controllable relay outputs on a different Omnimeter. The controllable relay outputs would be connected to a larger relay, contactor, or solid state relay which would power/un-power the pump.

This screenshot of a Push3 trigger shows how the pulse input state of one Omnimeter can be used to control the relay outputs on a different Omnimeter:
Screen Shot 2023-01-26 at 4.47.42 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-01-26 at 4.47.42 PM.png (200.93 KiB) Viewed 490 times
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371
Ezzie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 8:44 am

Re: How to Use the v.4 Omnimeter's Controllable Outputs

Post by Ezzie »

Yes, my current configuration is EKM Dash on a Windows PC USB port to a Blink and to a mesh network of 900 mHz 485Bee radios connected to Omnimeter V.4 at multiple locations.

I will give the Push3 a try and have ordered one from you to experiment with. Thanks again for your help on this.
Post Reply