EKM Dash iSerial IPv6 connectivity

Forum is open to all other questions, answers, and discussions that have no other topic.
Post Reply
vintozver
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:48 pm

EKM Dash iSerial IPv6 connectivity

Post by vintozver »

Hi, I would like to ask about possibility of using IPv6 stack for the iSerial emulation.

Script (for IPv4):

Code: Select all

socat TCP-LISTEN:50000,reuseaddr,fork,max-children=1 file:/dev/ttySC0,raw,b9600,csize=2,nonblock,echo=0
Script (for IPv6):

Code: Select all

socat TCP6-LISTEN:50000,reuseaddr,fork,max-children=1 file:/dev/ttySC0,raw,b9600,csize=2,nonblock,echo=0
to start the server on the host, which is connected to the meter over RS485.
Connection over IPv4 is fine, I'm able to communicate with the meter.
IPv6 results in "300003101 Bad Connection to iSerial".
I verified that the TCP port is open in both cases (IPv4 & IPv6).

Please advise if I'm doing something wrong here. Thanks.
Jameson
Posts: 862
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: EKM Dash iSerial IPv6 connectivity

Post by Jameson »

Im sorry, this is quite a ways out of my wheelhouse. Im not sure if the iSerial supports IPV6 or not. I suspect not, because it is such a simple device. I tried searching the web for:
ATC-1000 "ipv6"
ATC-1200 "ipv6"
but did not come up with anything definitive.
We have stopped selling the iSerial as it required too much support. It has been replaced by the EKM Push3 gateway.

Please let us know what you find out!
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371
vintozver
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:48 pm

Re: EKM Dash iSerial IPv6 connectivity

Post by vintozver »

I ran socat with -v (debug mode) to see the traffic going in and out to the socket. Turns out, when IPv6 socket is listened, no traffic is flowing.
IPv4 socket - traffic flows normally.

I have set the "meter-home" DNS name in the iSerial address field.
When I assign a v4 address - things work smoothly.
When I remove the v4 address and leave v6 addresses only - no connection is established from the EKM Dash software.

Turns out that EKM Dash software only resolves the A records (IPv4). If no A records are found - then no connection is possible.
It would be cool to resolve both A and AAAA records in the EKM Dash software, so both IPv4 and IPv6 stacks supported properly.
Jameson
Posts: 862
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: EKM Dash iSerial IPv6 connectivity

Post by Jameson »

Very interesting. We will put it in the hopper for Dash development. Thank you for the explanation.
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371
Post Reply