Thermal Metering

Forum is open to all questions, answers, and discussions related to all other types of meters not listed above, ours or others.
Post Reply
INTELLECTRIC
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:40 am

Thermal Metering

Post by INTELLECTRIC »

Do you have any recommendations for a thermal meter that would feed pulses into a v.4 Omni? There are a number that have their own controller, and many communicate on Modbus, but are you aware of any that would provide a straight pulse output that could be configured on the dashboard?

Thank you,
Jameson
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: Thermal Metering

Post by Jameson »

We don't have any direct experience with BTU/Heat Meters that have a pulse output. But here are some links to get you started:

https://www.onicon.com/products/system-20-btu-meter/
http://www.heatcombustion.co.uk/product.asp?i=518
https://www.diehl.com/metering/en/portf ... 775/63755/

If you can find a pulse output BTU/Heat Meter, it should work with our Omnimeter Pulse v.4 for pulse counting. You can then connect the Omnimeter Pulse v.4 to the internet using the EKM Push system.
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371
INTELLECTRIC
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:40 am

Re: Thermal Metering

Post by INTELLECTRIC »

One of EKM's competitors, Intellimeter, out of Pickering, ON Canada (https://intellimeter.com/products/btu-meters) has a range of BTU meters with M-Bus, Modbus-485, and optional pulse interface. If I go down this road, I will update the thread!
INTELLECTRIC
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:40 am

Re: Thermal Metering

Post by INTELLECTRIC »

Jameson,
I have everything connected now, using the pulse output from the Intellimeter BTU meter in addition to the electrical monitoring. The electrical side registers flawlessly on the Dash software, but I just discovered a little note that says that the pulse data from the Thermal meter cannot be displayed visually on the Dash software??? What are the chances that this could be a little update for Dash? The client does not want their data on the cloud, and so they have isolated the system from the internet, so I can't use Encompass for this purpose.

Is there any other way of extracting totalizer figures from the kwhr register and also the pulse counter register so that the client can monitor energy usage? This was the whole object of the project, and I need to deliver something!

Thanks for your help!
Jameson
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: Thermal Metering

Post by Jameson »

In your EKM Dash software. If you click on "Show Dashboard" in the upper right hand corner, then in the Comparison Chart, you can click "Edit" then in the dropdown you can choose "Pulse 1 Converted" for example. This should show you the converted valued for Pulse Input 1.

Here is a video about how to setup pulse counting in the EKM Dash: https://help.ekmmetering.com/support/so ... ing-video-
Screen Shot 2021-04-01 at 9.01.32 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-04-01 at 9.01.32 PM.png (344.48 KiB) Viewed 6069 times
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371
INTELLECTRIC
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:40 am

Re: Thermal Metering

Post by INTELLECTRIC »

Thanks, Jameson, you're always so helpful!
Post Reply