Pulse on the 25IDS

Forum is open to all questions, answers, and discussions related to electric meters, ours or others.
Post Reply
Wouter
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 11:37 am

Pulse on the 25IDS

Post by Wouter » Wed May 23, 2012 4:16 pm

I presume the pulse comes off port 4 and 6?

Wouter

Wouter
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 11:37 am

Re: Pulse on the 25IDS

Post by Wouter » Wed May 23, 2012 5:19 pm

It is 1 and 2. Found it.

Wourwe

phase90
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:14 am

Re: Pulse on the 25IDS

Post by phase90 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:20 am

Is the pulse output on the 25IDS an active push-pull type of output or is it an open collector type. If either, what are the specs (voltage, current)?

Or is it a relay contact?

Also, is it isolated from the line voltage? ground?

The data sheet does not seem to indicate what it is.

Jameson
Posts: 770
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: Pulse on the 25IDS

Post by Jameson » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:25 am

Hello Phase90,

Welcome to the forum!

The Pulse Output of all of our meters (including the 25IDS) is an un-powered "dry contact" closure (though solid state). Electrically the Pulse Output is very similar to the closing of a dry contact switch. The only difference is that in this case the output is polarized Pos+ and Neg - (only passes current in one direction)

Pulse Output Specs: Impulse width=90ms, Voltage 12~27V, current ≤27mA, max lead length: 20m

Let me know if you have any questions,

Regards
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371

phase90
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:14 am

Re: Pulse on the 25IDS

Post by phase90 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:33 pm

Hi Jameson,

Thank you for the information. So, as I see it, it acts like an open drain/open collector output with the solid state relay having a MOSFET output. If I use a pullup resistor (1K) to some VCC, the + output will pull it down to the - level (GND in my reading system) and the resistor will pull it back up to VCC when it releases 90 ms later.
You say 12-27V. Having a VCC of 5V or 3.3V should still work? I am planning on using a microcontroller to count pulses.

Jameson
Posts: 770
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: Pulse on the 25IDS

Post by Jameson » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:01 pm

Hey Phase90,

I would have to say that sounds correct, but I am not well versed in these things. I think the best will be to try it out.

I should probably have said "27VDC max" I am certain your 3.3or 5 VDC will work and will not harm the meter. Our 6 Digit Pulse Counter has a small 1.5V battery on it and it works fine: http://www.ekmmetering.com/ekm-metering ... unter.html

When you have your microcontroller up and running you should share your project here, we would be interested in checking it out!!

Thanks,
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371

Post Reply