Pressure readings

Forum is open to all questions, answers, and discussions related to water meters, ours or others.
Post Reply
nycentral13
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 10:46 am

Pressure readings

Post by nycentral13 » Mon May 13, 2013 10:58 am

Hi EKM,

I just received my Omnimeter v.4 and I am very excited to get it installed and remotely read the pulsed water meter for our floating restaurant. As you can imagine, an unwatched broken dockside waterline inside a vessel can be a very dangerous situation. But my question is not about measuring flow volume, but about pressure. Is there an easy way to connect a pressure sensor to the Omnimeter to record incoming water pressure? If it is possible, can anyone recommend a particular sensor that has a range from 0 to 50 psi?

Kind thanks,

Eric
Pier 66 Maritime - NYC

Jameson
Posts: 770
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: Pressure readings

Post by Jameson » Mon May 13, 2013 3:25 pm

Hi Eric,

Welcome to the forum!

This may be our first metering system installed installed in a floating restaurant!! :lol:

We do not have a way to measure a variable output like a "pressure sensor" that I can think of right off. You could however use a "pressure switch" to monitor your pressure. If you were to get a switch that would make contact at 40 psi (or any pressure that would work well for you) or above this could work:

You would connect the 2 wires from your pressure switch to one of the 3 Inputs of the Omnimeter Pulse v.4. When the pressure was over 40psi in this case the switch would be closed. When you read the Omnimeter Pulse v.4 with your computer, it would report the switch as "Closed". If you ever got a report for "Open" this would mean the pressure had dropped below 40 psi. Let us know if this sounds like a good solution.

You could also consider installing a similar switch in your bilge to monitor the water level.

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Thanks
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371

nycentral13
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 10:46 am

Re: Pressure readings

Post by nycentral13 » Tue May 14, 2013 1:45 pm

Thanks for the quick reply.

I was hoping for a solution with a more granular output than on/off at 40psi! Plus I already have plans to fill the other two pulsed inputs into my OmniMeter v.4. One for domestic water coming in from land (as I mentioned already) and the other two to monitor the saltwater pumps that bring water in to flush toilets.

I was originally interested in your meters to measure pulsed outputs, but we have a split electrical system with land power and generator service, so the added functionality of the electrical power measurement, is an added bonus.

Kind thanks,

Eric
Pier 66 Maritime - NYC

Post Reply