3 phase 3 or 4 wire

Forum is open to all questions, answers, and discussions related to electric meters, ours or others.
ThriveSpace
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:56 am

3 phase 3 or 4 wire

Postby ThriveSpace » Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:59 am

I recently purchased a 3 phase 3 wire system, come to find out we needed the 3 phase 4 wire system. Are the systems the exact same, all I would need is another split core "doughnut" or do I need to return the 3 wire and purchase a whole new 4 wire system?

Also, are the piercing connectors necessary for metering or could we direct wire it to an open breaker to provide the power?

Jameson
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: 3 phase 3 or 4 wire

Postby Jameson » Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:08 pm

Hello ThriveSpace.

You can use the exact same meter, you do not have to change any settings in the meter itself, or return your products. All you have to do is use 3 CTs instead of 2 CTs.

You will use these wiring instructions for your 3-phase 4-wire system: https://help.ekmmetering.com/support/solutions/articles/6000081679-3-phase-4-wire-metering-up-to-480-volts

You do not need to use the piercing connectors if you have open breakers in your panel. You can use the open breakers as the connection to your voltage reference wire.
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371


Return to “Electric Meters”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests