Using DASH to set up EKMOmnimeter

General questions and discussions focused around the EKM Metering System. Discuss your meters, installations, and meter communications here.
Post Reply
sgarcata
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 8:19 pm

Using DASH to set up EKMOmnimeter

Post by sgarcata » Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:46 pm

Rates? I see how to put in the TOU start times and did so successfully; where do I put in the corresponding power rates?

LCD Display? the User Manual shows that under Advanced settings for a specific meter, there are two tabs "General" & "LCD Display" and text that says to make the settings as to what data is displayed on the meter screen in the latter tab. I don't have that tab when I open DASH and choose to edit a meter. Is there another way to make those settings?
Documentation:
Dash - no LCD Display tab.jpg
Dash - no LCD Display tab.jpg (47.61 KiB) Viewed 4755 times
?

Jameson
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

Re: Using DASH to set up EKMOmnimeter

Post by Jameson » Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:34 pm

We do not have a place to input the power rate ($) in the EKM Dash at this point (as far a $ per kWh or $ per gallon). You can do this using the EKM Widget.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R4nbmZ9 ... bHAcWyK4ig

We are working on incorporating this into https://encompass.io

Or if you are using the EKM Dash you can export your data to excel and multiply your kWh used for a given time period by the $ per kWh.

Setting the LCD Display is a meter setting, this requires a USB converter (or EKM iSerial) to do. Im guessing you have an EKM Push. The EKM Push is a read only system, it only gathers meter data, it does not let you make meter settings. This is why your EKM Dash does not provide this option.

http://documents.ekmmetering.com/Omnime ... -Chart.pdf

Hope this helps,
Jameson
EKM METERING
http://www.ekmmetering.com
831.425.7371

sgarcata
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 8:19 pm

Re: Using DASH to set up EKMOmnimeter

Post by sgarcata » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:01 am

I wasn't connected to Push. I had DASH set to USB tab and had Blink plugged in and was getting readings.

images:
Dash - no LCD Display tab c.jpg
Dash - no LCD Display tab c.jpg (124.39 KiB) Viewed 4746 times
- showing that DASH is connected to meter
Dash - no LCD Display tab b.jpg
Dash - no LCD Display tab b.jpg (76.28 KiB) Viewed 4746 times
- showing that DASH is on USB tab
Dash - no LCD Display tab a.jpg
Dash - no LCD Display tab a.jpg (65.49 KiB) Viewed 4746 times
- showing that the LCD tab not there (nor is the General tab)

Seth
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:40 pm

Re: Using DASH to set up EKMOmnimeter

Post by Seth » Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:20 am

Thanks for getting back to us, and thanks for the further details and screenshots. This clears it up -- you have the Omnimeter I v.3, while the instructions for setting the display options pertain only to the more advanced Omnimeter Pulse v.4 models. As mentioned in the EKM Dash User Manual on page 7:

"The Omnimeter Pulse v.4 has the ability to change what displays on the meter’s LCD screen. To choose what you want to display, click the “LCD Display” tab and check the boxes next to the data values that you want to display on you meter’s screen. When you are ready, click “Set” to enter these settings in your meter."

The Omnimeter I v.3 is a different model that simply scrolls through its 15 different LCD display values, one at a time, while the more advanced Omnimeter Pulse v.4 has up to 42 different displays you can choose from.

Here again is the Dash User Manual:
http://documents.ekmmetering.com/EKM-Da ... Manual.pdf


Hope this helps!


Thanks again,

Seth
EKM Metering
Santa Cruz, California
ekmmetering.com
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 10.16.51 AM.jpg
Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 10.16.51 AM.jpg (132.42 KiB) Viewed 4742 times

Post Reply